6 Replies Latest reply on Aug 3, 2017 8:13 AM by dburnham

Is there a limit to how long table field names should be?

emannuel_n

I have a table model for " initial interview questions" and inside the 10-page interview there are questions like "What are the predictors or antecedent events that trigger the problem behavior?". Right now I am using underscores to create a shortened version of the name in the table like "Predictors_of_problem_behavior" but this seems too long. Has anyone run into this problem? is there a better approach to saving interview type questions and answers. I don't want to get too cryptic with my naming convention because there are a lot of questions and answers I need to be able to easily find and reference in the interview and if the question is named " D3, problemB" it will become frustrating. Any thoughts? I am very new to file maker I would appreciate anyone help.

• 1. Re: Is there a limit to how long table field names should be?
          Vaughan

I uses a version of A-B and reserve underscores to delineate the table occurrence chain. Either way, keep them short. I'd opt for just"Predictors" unless there can be other predictor entities, in which case I'd use "ProblemPredictors" or "PredictorProblems".

It's easy and harmless to change TO and field names in FMP -- unless the mistake is made to hard code them into expressions (like the previous developer did with all ExecuteSQL in the database I now maintain).

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Is there a limit to how long table field names should be?
            BruceRobertson
            there are a lot of questions and answers I need to be able to easily find...

Do some searches here for tests, and surveys. You're going down a direction that cannot work.

FileMaker find operations and indexes don't work on the field names; they work on the field CONTENT.

So the full text you described above for question 1, or question D3B, can be entered into the QuestionText field.