7 Replies Latest reply on Aug 3, 2017 8:04 AM by dburnham

Invoices report-grouping by year and month...how?

dazerella

Hi,

I am quite new to Filemaker and I am in the process of trying to build a database with a number of different tables which are all related to one main table.

One of the tables needs to show all of the invoices which have been sent (Just a reference number, invoice number and date sent).  It doesn't need to be fancy, or link to any inventory, etc.  But, I want to be able to create a report which sorts the invoices by Year, and then within each year give a sub-heading of the Month.  I have been trying to do this and am stuck....

So far I have managed to sort the invoices with a sub-summary (of MonthSort) with the 'Date Sent' field set within this (customised to show only the month and year).  However it does a new sub-heading for each day within the month, rather than lumping all of 'January', etc. together under one heading.  So three invoice dated on three dates in January result in three headings.

Please can you advise, in basic terms, how to complete this using Filemaker Pro 16?

Any help you can give would be greatly appreciated.

P.S. I'm using Windows if that makes a difference to how Filemaker is laid out.

• 1. Re: Invoices report-grouping by year and month...how?
          marthazink

What you'll need to create is a calculation that will clump things together. Like you mentioned, the date groups by that specific date.

Let's pretend your date field is called InvoiceDate. Create a calculation that looks like:

Date ( Month ( InvoiceDate ) ; 1 ; Year ( InvoiceDate ) )

That will force every record to have a date with the 1st of the month. So an invoice for 1/21/17 and 1/31/17 would both show 1/1/17 in the new calculation. Then you can use your subsummary sections to group by your new field.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Invoices report-grouping by year and month...how?
            techt