11 Replies Latest reply on Aug 2, 2017 10:17 AM by William-Porter

Why FileMaker Server?

heatherwilliams

I'm in my second year of increasing the capabilities of an inherited FileMaker database used to track students who apply for and receive funding from our office. We currently do not have any web integration, but after attending DevCon 2017, I have high hopes for reducing the amount of manual download from one system and upload in to FileMaker, and then emailing applicants at various times while they are funded (i.e., developing a more automated workflow process). I am looking for advice on how to articulate to non-developers that we should purchase FileMaker Server for an office with 8 users - two of us are low-level developers - versus going to a "fully customizable" module in an external system that won't cost anything because our institution already purchased a site license.

We are currently running Filemaker Pro 15 on a peer-to-peer network with a dedicated iMac that continually runs a copy of our database and I manually back up everyday. We can connect to this "server" in-house via the institution's network or via a VPN client when off campus.

• 1. Re: Why FileMaker Server?
          taylorsharpe

1) Backups without taking down the server or accidentally corrupting by copying an open file

2) Schedule scripts

3) Security

4) Many more users

5) Perform Script on Server

gosh... I can't even begin to name all the reasons for FMS.  Actually, I never use FM with using FMS and can't imagine it without it. 

2 of 2 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Why FileMaker Server?
            heatherwilliams

Thanks, Taylor. Unfortunately, these aren't persuasive enough details since the other system would also take care of all of this for us at no additional cost.

Is it bad to hope that the demo of this other system ends up having flaws? I am enjoying my development work with FileMaker.

• 3. Re: Why FileMaker Server?
              philmodjunk