7 Replies Latest reply on Aug 9, 2017 5:55 PM by algae592002

use MacBook pro camera for a container field

algae592002

Does anyone know how to use the MacBook pro camera to take pictures for a container field in a FMP database? I'm a teacher and want to take photos of students on the first few days of school and have them in the student profile page I use.

If this is at all possible, without having to take photo and then, import...it to the DB, I would be very interested in knowing how.

In any case, thank you for your time and interest.

Hope to hear from someone very soon.

Thanks.

• 1. Re: use MacBook pro camera for a container field
          mcrostie

algae592002

Your school should have access to Student image files for you to import - otherwise in your DB, have the student click on the field to take the image with the Mac Pro screen camera and save to the data

MM

• 2. Re: use MacBook pro camera for a container field
            mikebeargie

mcrostie -

Your school should have access to Student image files for you to import

In a perfect world, yes. But students change year to year, and a lot of schools don't store images so there is a legitimate need for real-time capture.

otherwise in your DB, have the student click on the field to take the image with the Mac Pro screen camera and save to the data

container fields don't work that way outside of filemaker go (Insert From Device is iOS only), so these instructions don't make sense in relation to a macbook pro. If you were using FileMaker Go, then Insert From Device would be a great way to capture photos without leaving filemaker.

algae592002 - as I noted above, filemaker pro can't capture from the webcam directly from inside of a container field. There are three ways to do this.

#1 is what you are trying to avoid, where you capture an image and then import it to a container. Although, this is the EASIEST way to go, and you can also support drag and drop of a picture to make it a bit easier to use.