7 Replies Latest reply on Aug 10, 2017 7:21 AM by gisguy

data parsing/cleaning

gisguy

Hello,

I am a novice to FileMaker, with my background in GIS.

I've inherited a FileMaker database where one table has three fields as such:

record_id          project_code               project_id

1234               12589, 17058                  257842

1235               11387, 25871                  358740

I need to restructure the above to this ideal:

record_id          project_code                  project_id

1234                 12589                              257842

1236                 17058                              257842

1235                 11387                              358740

1237                  25871                             358740

record is a serial auto entered number and project relates to a different table. table contains ~45000 records.

Looking through help, some script seems appropriate. My struggle is where to begin......can anyone please point me in the best direction?

Thanks,  Mike

• 1. Re: data parsing/cleaning
          philmodjunk

Do you know how to create a script in FileMaker? A script could use two nested loops, one to  loop through the records and one to loop through the comma separated values in the project_code field, creating additional new records from any listed codes added after the first and then removing those extra codes from the original record.

Your example only shows two codes, is that always the case? If the number of codes were always two, you might be able to use an extra table and manually export/import this data to generate the needed records. But if there can be large numbers of listed codes, this won't be very practical.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: data parsing/cleaning
            gisguy

Thank you for the reply.