9 Replies Latest reply on Aug 10, 2017 9:15 AM by philmodjunk

How to populate a questionnaire automatically from certain conditions

brenseec

Hi there,

NOOB here to filemaker (I have some SQL and Access and other coding experience) and loving it so far.

I’m currently building an inspection tool for inspectors in our company, One thing I’m struggling at the moment is to populate any given inspection/questionnaire with the relevant questions to the inspection.

I have a master question list table in the format below

Question no, Question, lift type (check box list to choose from)

Basically, when the inspector is on site he/she will enter what type of lift they are inspecting by ticking a checkbox, this should then populate the relevant question on the inspection form.

Any ideas how can do this efficiently, I can do it a clunky way by conditional formatting but means I have to manually type the questions instead of inserting it form my question table.

• 1. Re: How to populate a questionnaire automatically from certain conditions
          philmodjunk

Each question should be a record in a master list table of questions.

Each answer should be a record in a related table linked to the relevant question.

Pulling up the correct set of questions, or one question at a time as the user completes the preceding question can be just a case of pulling up the correct record for answering the next question as determined by the type of equipment being inspected.

That's a very general description because much depends on your full data model, which is not something that you have shared with us.

There are a number of discussions here that describe data models for a questionnaire or survey that you might search out to learn more.

• 2. Re: How to populate a questionnaire automatically from certain conditions
            brenseec

Thanks philmodjunk,

Yep I have each question as a record in a master list and I have a table of answers (there can be more that 1 answer),