11 Replies Latest reply on Aug 11, 2017 11:16 AM by philmodjunk

if field not empty don't show portal row

glupoi

Hi,

I'd like to tell my portal not to show the row in which the fields date isn't empty.

In other words, if the date field in the portal row is not empty, do not show the row.

Thank you in advance,

Giuseppe

• 1. Re: if field not empty don't show portal row
          fitch

Have you tried using Filter in the portal options?

• 2. Re: if field not empty don't show portal row
            fitch

And the way you test for not empty is: not IsEmpty( yourField )

• 3. Re: if field not empty don't show portal row
              glupoi

Thank you Fitch,

I was excited for the solution but I'm stuck here :

If (  not IsEmpty ( Materiel::Rentré le ) ; resultOne ; resultTwo )

I'm just a beginner, please be patient.

Thank you,

Giuseppe

• 4. Re: if field not empty don't show portal row
                philmodjunk

Just use:

not IsEmpty ( Materiel::Rentré le )

There is no need for the If function. Though some people choose to use:

If (  not IsEmpty ( Materiel::Rentré le ) ; 1 ; 0 )

That actually just repeats the values returned by the first option.

• 5. Re: if field not empty don't show portal row
                  fitch

In other words, we're just testing whether [not IsEmpty()] is true or false. FileMaker recognizes 0 as false, and any non-zero number (e.g., 1) as true.

In a portal filter, related records that return a true result will display, and false will be hidden.

Keep in mind, this only affects the interface. If you use a calculation like Count(related::field), the result will respect the underlying relationship and ignore the portal filter.

• 6. Re: if field not empty don't show portal row
                    glupoi

Thank you guys, your answer works but I realised a redundancy problem. Let me explain what I need to see:

Got an invoice layout with

• a portal
                    • an IDfield (text).