1 2 Previous Next 27 Replies Latest reply on Aug 15, 2017 6:23 AM by Mike_Mitchell

How do I bill?

max88s

As a developer, I am brand new to the "art of billing." Frankly, I have no idea how much to bill, when to bill, how to handle a client who has issues that could actually be a programming error on my part, etc. My solution is provided via a server and I have access to all of my clients' solutions.

I currently have three clients. I am not billing any of them now because my product is brand new and I have considered them "beta testers." But the time has come to change this practice.

Is there such a  thing as an industry standard as to the amount I should bill? Is this an hourly thing or more of a maintenance agreement?

I would truly appreciate some guidance here.  Thank you!

• 1. Re: How do I bill?
          Mike_Mitchell

There are lots of different billing models, and they all have advantages and disadvantages. Some people bill hourly, regardless of what they're doing. Some people subscribe to the "value" billing strategy, where they take a percentage of the money the client makes or saves by using the solution. And some people simply license the product and have a fixed fee per time period (typically, a year).

I have products that I license, and the rest of my billing I base on an hourly rate. I typically offer a few hours a month to each client as "free" support for emergent issues. I also try not to charge for things that are truly bug fixes - stuff that's clearly my fault. (Although, that really never happens.)