aknudsen

From 6 hours to 6 minutes with ExecuteSQL()

Discussion created by aknudsen on Oct 26, 2017
Latest reply on Oct 26, 2017 by bigtom

Network traffic analysis using FM? Yeah, that's what I do as part of my job. As a network engineer I needed a way to analyze traffic to understand the flow, what traffic enters and leaves the network, and how much of it.

The goal was to take the 10's of millions lines of log and condense it down to a few thousand lines to be put into a Excel sheet with fancy pivot tables looking like this.

Screen Shot 2017-10-26 at 05.30.38.png

The Excel is a template and I use the MBS plugin from monkeybreadsoftware to replace a named range so I don't have to alter the pivot tables with new ranges every time I have a report due.

I also use the MBS plugin to import my raw data from currently 12 mySQL servers located throughout the US. By mid next year this number will grow to around 40. Since my data is either new or changed the FM.InsertOrUpdateRecord function is invaluable. Could I do it in pure FM sure, but why reinvent the wheel?

Anyway, the data I'm consuming is a combination of Syslog and Netflow so it has all the fields from a Syslog format where the count and bytes are updated the way Netflow logs work. The logs are use on Layer 7 traffic which means we identify not only the source and destination ports, but also the application i.e. Google-base, SSL, SKYPE etc.

We also know the direction of the traffic such as inbound and outbound Internet traffic. We also  what countries its going to and coming from.

Some traffic is allowed by default and some not, but that is irrelevant to the calculations. So my key elements here are:

• Direction
  • Zones (can be multiple internet facing connections)
  • Application
  • Country
  • Byte count
  • Hit count