AnsweredAssumed Answered

NAICS code for FM Developer

Question asked by taylorsharpe on Dec 27, 2017
Latest reply on Dec 28, 2017 by taylorsharpe

I'm trying to figure out the best NAICS code for my company.  I'm a small FM developer with a lot of clients where I develop the custom apps/solutions, help install their software, train, and maintain solutions (upgrades, backups).  I do not do production hosting, only hosting  of solutions in development.  Also, I don't resell software (including FM) for tax reasons in my State (Texas) - I have another FBA handle that for my clients.  So I am not a seller of software.  I think this is what many of us typically do that are independent FM developers. 

I'm leaning towards this one:

541511 Custom Computer Programming Services

This U.S. industry comprises establishments primarily engaged in writing, modifying, testing, and supporting software to meet the needs of a particular customer.

Cross-References. Establishments primarily engaged in--

• Software design, development, and publishing, or software publishing only--are classified in Industry 511210, Software Publishers; and
  • Planning and designing computer systems that integrate computer hardware, software, and communication technologies, even though such establishments may provide custom software as an integral part of their services--are classified in U.S. Industry 541512, Computer Systems Design Services.

I also looked at this one but didn't think it as close:

511210 Software Publishers