AnsweredAssumed Answered

Inventory System. All the complications.

Question asked by K.Feete on Jan 4, 2018
Latest reply on Jul 31, 2018 by NorbertWeiss_1

I've been using Filemaker since 2011 and it has done a great job for us, but the business has changed a lot in that time and increasingly I'm having a lot of problems, especially with inventory. I've recently decided to move my solution from a shared-over-network Pro file to a FM server model, and I'm using that excuse to start over from the ground up, but there's so many complications I'm having a hard time seeing past the solution I've been applying band-aids to for 7 years. I was hoping someone could help me think this sucker through.

As a side note -- we are very closely regulated by the FDA, so when I use the word "must" below, take that as a non-negotiable, government-mandated feature.

--

My business is a raw milk cheese plant. We produce multiple types of cheese and multiple batches per day; batches contain a variable number of cheese wheels. Data is entered on an iPad kept in the cheeseroom.  All ingredients going into the cheese must be tracked by lot number.

Once made the cheeses move through a brine and dry room setup into the aging cellars, where they will stay for 2 months to a year. Currently there are three cellars and data there is also tracked on an iPad. Cheeses are handled multiple times weekly and cannot be ID'd by the wheel at this stage, only by batch. They are stacked on wheeled racks (stacks may contain multiple batches; batches may be on multiple stacks; and batches may move between stacks during aging) and these stacks are moved between cellars multiple times during the aging process; I need to track which cellars they were in, when, and for how long.