AnsweredAssumed Answered

Time Keeping Widget? Multiple Users accessing record simultaneously

Question asked by wheelman1138 on Mar 1, 2018
Latest reply on Mar 1, 2018 by philmodjunk

Noob here..... I'm trying to build a time keeping widget within my custom FM app. I work for a printing company and we are trying to move to a digital workflow for our tracking and accessing our printing projects and their details as they move through the different stages of production. I've begun building (sort of) an application to view all of a job's details and specifications, as well as information for the customer who ordered, contact, and shipping information, etc; basically everything you might need to know about a specific project. My employer has also tasked me with creating a way for each employee to log their time against each job they touch and I've run into several hurdles that I've been unable up to this point to climb over. One of the biggest problems I'm having is that at any given time, there can be multiple people in different areas of the shop that may be working on a job and when that happens they'll get the FM message that "X-Username is currently modifying this record", and so they cannot start logging their time. I'm not sure how to get around this. My thought was that I would have to make the timekeeping aspect of our application it's own separate file/app but we have some employees accessing the system via FM Go on an IPad so I don't know how well that would work. I'm a novice here so it very well may be that there is a simple solution but I've just not been able to come up with an answer yet. It doesn't help matters that what I've started from is a clunky FM app that was already in place that may not have necessarily been built using the best practices. Does anyone out there have any suggestions? I've attached some screenshots of what I'm working with.

Screenshot 1: The tables currently in our database