J_File

OSx vs Windows - Viewing Quality

Discussion created by J_File on Apr 1, 2018
Latest reply on Apr 13, 2018 by J_File

Hi all.

Looking for some inspiration from my fellow FM developers.

I have been building a monster app for the last 18 months and am really pleased with how it is going. Started from no experience, so it has been a very steep learning curve.

I originally started developing on a Mac I have always liked the look of Macs and wanted to own one, although my work environment has always been Windows based.

Anyway, I think I have been really spoiled. I have been using a Mac Book Pro connected to a Dell 27" 4k monitor (P2715Q), and the quality of the viewing experience has been nothing short of amazing. Very easy to sit in front of the screen for hours on end, with no eye strain, looking at beautifully rounded fonts. Even working on the 13.3" MBP has been great for short bursts on the train or on the sofa due to the excellent resolution and brilliant oSX scaling. In this time, I have done the odd bit in Bootcamp, and always though it was not as good an experience, but it was only for 5 or 10 minutes at a time to just check if a certain script was working OK or not.

Anyway, as my app has developed, I have realised that ALL my users are going to be Windows users, so I figure I am far better off developing in Windows so I can replicate exactly what my users are going to be seeing. e.g. pdf functionality, print functionality etc.