AnsweredAssumed Answered

Some of my Container Field records not accepting drag-n-drop

Question asked by cgib100 on Jun 5, 2018

I'm relatively new to FileMaker and have been learning the ropes through the FileMaker 16 training videos and trial-n-error.  I have rudimentary understanding so far of the program and scripting so please understand if I don't describe my problem/s accurately.  And sorry for long post, but wanted to explain my situation--maybe more details than needed.

I'm building a curriculum library for our company's training courses, which may eventually get posted to a server for company access.  The topics within these courses, and supporting files, consist of MS PowerPoint, Word, Excel, videos, pictures, and PDFs.  I currently have over 8,000 topic records, which fall under 133 courses within 10 different programs.  So, I basically have three tables:  Programs, Courses, Topics -- relationships set in that order. I started with all three tables listed in a Excel spreadsheet as a name library, which was before our company purchased FileMaker (ver. 16.0.5).  I'm able to slowly import field names from the spreadsheet into related FileMaker text fields, which saved a lot of time considering one course alone could contain up to 200 topic presentations and supporting documents, pictures, and videos.  However, one of my tedious processes for the Container field that has the actual files (e.g., Word, PDF, Excel, etc.) is dragging the various files into the Topics Table container fields.  I'm reviewing the various posts on a script that can use to import all related files into the container of the corresponding records (possibly using something like "Get  DocumentsPathListing").  So for now I'm dragging and dropping files into the container--until I can figure out a import script that will work for my situation.