user24240

FileMaker Licensing is Expensive!  No,not really!

Discussion created by user24240 on Jun 17, 2018
Latest reply on Jun 17, 2018 by bigtom

I've been developing solutions with FileMaker™ for 31 years now and, for my money, it is, by far, the best solution there is. Those who don't know any better, or are fixated on industrial strength solutions (Oracle, SQL, etc) and who aren't willing to consider anything other, are missing out, not necessarily on a replacement but as an additional tool that can be used for prototyping or for developing an internal, much needed, solution within a very short amount of time.

In recent years, FileMaker Inc. has changed its licensing model, moving towards an annual license and I often hear grumbling that it is too expensive. I completely and utterly disagree. In fact, I find the observation somewhat laughable considering how much, for example, SalesForce charges for being, really, nothing more than a glorified CRM and as for Oracle, all I can say here is that Larry Ellison paid around $650 million for his own Hawaiian island. So let's be realistic and examine the cost of licensing FileMaker.

With the release of FileMaker™ 17, FileMaker Inc. has increased its platform costs by around $3 per user per month. For 5-9 users it costs $15 per month per user and decreases, on a sliding scale to $11 a month per user for 50-99 users. Let’s say, for example, that you have 10 users at $14 per month per user which translates to $1680 per year. Ok, it’s not an insignificant amount but let’s talk about what you get for that money, rather than the amount of money itself.