AnsweredAssumed Answered

Combine multiple field contents in one portal column

Question asked by folksytitan on Jun 18, 2018

Hi everyone!

I'm new to FileMaker, so please bear with me.

Alright, I'm in the process of creating an iPad app that will be able to evaluate scenarios in school (I'm in a paramedic program and we need to keep track of the scenarios/things learned during these scenarios for certification purposes). The file will be uploaded into the Cloud to allow remote access and up to date access wherever you are and whichever iPad you're using. Up to know, everything is good except for one thing. I'm having trouble setting up a portal for a summary of competencies practiced tracked during scenarios.

Here's what I've done up to now :

"Scenarios" T.O.

- All the scenario templates will be added as different records. Evaluators will be evaluating directly on this table, inputing unique StudentID, and with "Import Records" script, imports the record to the student's profile and in a Scenario_Archive T.O.

"Scenario_Archive" T.O. ( relationship: Scenarios=Scenario_Archive via ScenarioID)

- Tracks every scenario done by every student since the beginning. Acts as an archive (and also as a backup for any system bug). Scenarios, when completed, are imported via Import Records script to the scenario's archive.

"*StudentName*_Archive" T.O. (relationship: Nothing yet, part of my question to you guys!)

- Tracks only the student specific scenarios completed by that same student. Student will only have access to their personal "Archive" without being able to modify anything (well, that's the plan. I haven't played with the security features yet). Scenarios, when completed, are imported via Import Records script to the student's archive. It will contain a portal that will display the completed competencies, and give them access to the specific scenario evaluation with the said competence.