AnsweredAssumed Answered

Very new - any advice appreciated!

Question asked by apaulg on Jul 11, 2018
Latest reply on Jul 12, 2018 by apaulg

Hi all. Apologies in advance for a lengthy and probably technically incorrect post.

I'm a serious newbie. I'm using FileMaker to build a database for a university music department to manage and relate our events, contacts, venues, and resources (inventory). I've taken a few online courses through Lynda and I've got something very basic running but it's really just practice for me at this point. It actually mostly works but as I get down in to details and nuance, some problems are beginning to arise.

Essentially, I would like to create a system for reserving rooms (for classes, concerts, rehearsals, other events), checking out equipment or other inventory, and managing events (reserving rooms+equipment). We have various event types, some are departmental and some are rentals (whom I have to pull quotes and invoices for). I'd like to be able to pull reports based on contacts which show what equipment they have checked out or a history of their events. Down the road I'd also like to integrate one of the many calendaring options offered out there. Things like that.

I know that one of the most important things to get right in the initial stages is to get the design/relationships right. This is where I get caught up - I've tried a few different things. For now, I have 5 tables: People, Rooms, Reservations, ReservationLineItems (a join table), Resources. I don't even know if I've identified the appropriate tables. I experimented with not having a "Rooms" table and just considering our rooms "resources" but then I realized that many of the resources (physical inventory) should be assigned to a room or venue. This being the case I'd like to be able to relate those resources to the rooms table. Then I can create query that shows resources by room.