slighted

My feelings about FileMaker

Discussion created by slighted on Oct 29, 2018
Latest reply on Oct 30, 2018 by philmodjunk

Hi all!

I am a newish FileMaker developer and while I can say I find the platform to be straightforward, and incredibly easy for many things, I do have a few things that make feel turned away by the FileMaker platform as a future developer. I am a youngin so perhaps my views are misguided but I have had these as the following issues with the FileMaker platform:

Regarding local applications that run on FileMaker Pro:

1) Why is it so tedious to deploy applications that run locally? As an ISV it is paramount that these applications are able to be installed on the user's computer. Far too much of my time is spent connecting to a user, making sure they have the right version of FileMaker installed and then installing our application with a third party installer. Why doesn't FileMaker provide an easy way to deploy applications that are locally hosted? IE. I load my app into a FileMaker packager that creates an installer, which, when deployed for the user to use, checks to make sure the right version of FileMaker is installed, if not installs it with our license, and then installs our application in a specified directory for each platform. I would hope a platform that talks about ease of deployability would actually make it easy to deploy a software application. Is there something I am missing? I have developed a third-party installer for windows and am in the process of developing one for Mac but it just seems like something that would save a lot of people a lot of time if they could just deploy their application through something like an installer compiler that FileMaker provides.