AnsweredAssumed Answered

Can tables be used like records to store information, such as survey data?

Question asked by computron on Oct 31, 2018
Latest reply on Nov 1, 2018 by philmodjunk

Hello Everyone,

Self taught Filemaker user here, wondering if I can gleam some ideas concerning a new solution I've been tasked with creating. The company I work for have requested a workplace utilization app, for tracking office wide seating arrangements on several floors (i.e. is the seat active, away, inactive etc...). Timestamps for every seat analysis are required, but very little else. There are 1500+ chairs across 4 floors on this particular job.

I have created a solution that will adequately work for one such survey; The source table for the solution includes:

Source table fields:

UniqueID: Get(UUID)
Chair Number: Text
Floor Number: Number
Department: Text
Column Number: Number

Int_Ext position: Text

Segment: Number

Chair Status 1: Text

Timestamp 1 (scripted to function when each individual seat status is altered)

Chair Status 2: Text

Timestamp 2 (scripted to function when each individual seat status is altered)

Chair Status 3: Text

Timestamp 3 (scripted to function when each individual seat status is altered)

Chair Status 4: Text

Timestamp 4 (scripted to function when each individual seat status is altered)

Problem I'm facing:

The client has requested that multiple surveys be taken four times a day (x4), four times a week (x4). As shown in the pictures I have used a portal to allow four sets of surveys (Shown below) to take place a day, but this still leaves the issue of being able to recreate this information in another table for the 3 remaining sets of surveys.

Example Pic 3.JPG