Linda@compu-books.com

Benefits to Re-write an Old Solution

Discussion created by Linda@compu-books.com on Jan 21, 2019
Latest reply on Jan 28, 2019 by Get(3rdRockData)

I've been developing FileMaker solutions for about 29 years now, and I have a few clients with fairly old solutions that are getting clunky and out of date (and downright ugly on the inside!) I'm looking for a resource or testimonies/explanations some of you might have used regarding the benefits of investing in rebuilding a 10 year old mission critical database system. While this would involve getting a beautiful brand new interface, some of my clients don't want to spend the budget on what they see is just a new pretty face.  How do I explain that the underlying technology is really what makes all the improvements in performance and ability to move into the future with a piece of software?

Anyone trying to run a 10 year old 'off-the-shelf' software would never be able to do so with our new operating systems and technologies required to do business today.  But FileMaker has done a great job of allowing old databases to convert to newer upgrades of the app (almost to a detriment), so it's harder to defend the need to upgrade the schema. I sometimes get 'if it's not broke, don't fix it', so how do I convince them it's a poor investment to continue to build on an old foundation? (Or do some of you disagree?)