AnsweredAssumed Answered

Filemaker ODBC Memory Issues, Leaks - Problems keeps coming back

Question asked by ricardoramalhoduarte on Mar 15, 2019
Latest reply on Mar 18, 2019 by TSGal

Hi,

I'm sorry for the tittle but I'm really fustrated! Filemaker ODBC, in every version keeps coming worse!

This is the first time I post to the community even if I'm a follower. I've been working for a medium school (1500 students) for over 15 years and when I started to work here the school had 3 Apple computers with Filemaker 3 installed used for the first administrative services related to students. In the same year I started to work we upgraded to Filemaker 5.5 on Windows and I started to develop software that connected to Filemaker using one of the first drivers that allow ODBC connection to Filemaker 5.5 - DataDirect SequeLink 5.5 for ODBC.

From that time from that time until now all the software is Filemaker based and we have duzens of applications with different types of access connected through ODBC, the majority now developed in .NET, connected Filemaker to SQL databases, send Json data to webservices, etc.

This wekkend we upgraded to Filemaker Server 17 (30 Webdirect concurrent connections) and now we have this configuration with 2 servers (all 64 bit versions):

- Windows Server 2012 R2 Standard fully updated (16GB RAM) (Server 1);

- Filemaker Server Version 17.0.2.203 (last version) with certificates (Server 1);

- Windows Server 2012 R2 Standard fully updated (16GB RAM) (Server 2);

- IIS Version 8.5.9600.16384 fully updated using .NET framework 4.6.1 (Server 2);

- Filemaker ODBC Driver Version 17.0.7 (last version) (Server 2).

We normally have a few concurrent connections trough the Filemaker ODBC driver and we use it a lot (every downtime is previously notified). In earlier versions of FM we used SequeLink ODBC driver with all the bugs and issues. From FM11, Filemaker has made available its first ODBC driver that we started to use, also buggy…