6 Replies Latest reply on Nov 15, 2011 7:16 AM by hborch

Importing xml from web services

hborch

Hello

I have a database system for biology where I have to update information on species, their names etc. from a webservice every week. To do that I am offered a webservice that I can send request to and receive xml back. I will therefor set up a script that runs in the night and import 100 000 species names. The service is on this adress:

http://webtjenester.artsdatabanken.no/Artsnavnebase.asmx/TaksonFraID?TaksonID=4515

The XML I get back seems to me to be understandable though I have never worked with XML/XSL before. I understand that I need some XSL stylesheet to avoid the error message I get when I try import -> XML data source;

"XML/XSL information is not enough to proceed with import/export."

Is there somebody out there that can help me with this task? I even may pay something for it if somebody could write it ready for me so that "It just works"!!

Happy for all kind of help!!

Best regards

Håkon Borch

• 1. Re: Importing xml from web services
          nickorr

Håkon,

Yes, you do need to use XSLT to import XML.  If you'd like a primer on this all works with regards to FileMaker, there are a couple of posts on my blog which talk about this.  They're centered around the DDR, but could apply equally to any XML source : http://www.goya.com.au/blog/understanding-and-using-database-design-report-part-1

If you want more than that, there is a good book on FileMaker and XML by Beverly Voth : http://www.amazon.com/FileMaker-Developers-Guide-Wordware-Library/dp/155622043X  Although it's written for FMP 6 the same concepts still apply and it's still valid.