10 Replies Latest reply on Nov 16, 2011 2:29 PM by techt

FMGO - Best Development approach?.

Ramki

Hi All,

while developing application for FMGO(to sell in Apple Store) apart from best coding practices, what would be the best approach.

a) Keep Logic and data in the same file.

If so, how to extract data and transfer data when new enhancments or made.

b) Keep Logic and data in separate file(data separation?).

is it not too much for a small device.?

Another clarification I need is Whether normal "Manage->External Data Source" will work on device. In other words, if I refer to data file using external data source on my mac pc and deploy the apps(2 files) on to a device, will it work correctly. (I have not tried this, I am new to file maker - all along doing ASP.Net & C# - working in a company. As and when get time, working on FM at home as I want to venture into FM development on my own).

regards

ramki

• 1. Re: FMGO - Best Development approach?.
          ibrahim_bittar

Hi Ramki

Technically speaking there should be no difference between single and multiple file design, however, after years of working in a multi file solution I prefer a single file approach.

Regardless of how many files you use, your design must be as minimal as possible. Have an iPad handy and test every step of the way in real conditions, don't get fooled by the performance of yout laptop/desktop computer just to see that it is too much for your iPad.

Saludos

Ibrahim Bittar Torres

Director General

Eikonsys, S.A. de C.V.

FileMaker 10 Certified Developer

http://www.eikonsys.com

FileMaker Business Alliance

• 2. Re: FMGO - Best Development approach?.
            DavidJondreau

Have you looked into how one actually sells applications through the Apple Store? I don't think you can get there from here.

• 3. Re: FMGO - Best Development approach?.
              DavidZakary