8 Replies Latest reply on Dec 3, 2011 6:57 PM by jormond

Anyone using Base Elements or Inspector Pro?

Ramki

Hi ,

is there anyone using Base Elements or Inspector Pro?

Can you give some realtime usage of them? What I mean here is the real time experience with the product.

Such an expensive product is needed to be purchased? The price is as good as the FMADV pro.

regards

ramki

• 1. Re: Anyone using Base Elements or Inspector Pro?
          ibrahim_bittar

Hi Ramki

If you create small, simple solutions you don't need it that much.

If you create complex solutions it's a must.

Saludos

Ibrahim Bittar Torres

Director General

Eikonsys, S.A. de C.V.

FileMaker 10 Certified Developer

http://www.eikonsys.com

FileMaker Business Alliance

• 2. Re: Anyone using Base Elements or Inspector Pro?
            GordonShewach

I've been using Base Elements for a few years. I can't really imagine developing without it. The primary thing that I use it for is finding how some element in a database is used. For example, let's say I have a script that needs to be revised, but I don't know where that script is currently being used. BE shows me every button that calls on that script and every script that uses that script as a subroutine. Or maybe I want to change a field definition. BE shows me what layouts display that field, what fields reference that field, what relationships use that field, any value lists that depend on that field, etc.

Another primary and related use is to see if a database element is unreferenced such that it can be repurposed or deleted. You do have to be concerned about a concept called "indirection" where an element is referenced in ways that BE (or the Database Development Report that it depends on) can't see it.