5 Replies Latest reply on Nov 22, 2011 6:33 AM by datastride

Best Resolution for Layout

dclark2263

I am wondering what the best minimum resolution is for developing new solutions. I have been using 1024 x 768 for several years now as that seemed to be the standard at the time. Just wondering with bigger monitors for desktops and better resolutions for laptops is there a new standard.

Thanks

• 1. Re: Best Resolution for Layout
          RayCologon

Hi dclark2263,

I don't believe there's a new standard as such - it really depends on the organisation or user-base. There are some companies that still have a smattering of 1024x768 monitors, though not too many have smaller formats these days.

If you are working on a solution that would benefit from a larger screen area (some don't), then I suggest you take a survey of the computers in the orgnanization(s) where it will be used and work out a reasonable minimum for the specific context.

...and don't forget that with the advent of FileMaker Go, a lot of solutions will end up being accessed on devices with still smaller screens - so in that sense, screen sizes are more varied than ever!

Regards,

Ray

------------------------------------------------

R J Cologon, Ph.D.

FileMaker Certified Developer

Author, FileMaker Pro 10 Bible

NightWing Enterprises, Melbourne, Australia

http://www.nightwingenterprises.com

------------------------------------------------

• 2. Re: Best Resolution for Layout
            Karsten

Hi dclark

There are several approaches. Your fixed window size still might be a valid approach, depending on the hardware your customers use. Some customers have small screens, bad hardware, and no good graphic support.

The following works quite well for me for standard solutions:

1024px width and maximum screen height.