11 Replies Latest reply on May 29, 2014 11:02 AM by deninger

I am new to Filemaker Pro and have a question about merging database files

annelinton

I work with a database that gets updated everymonth with new information( records) as well the database itself may be changed in some way. For instance their may be a new field added or the value lists may change. So I was wondering how to import or merge the old database with the new. I have no problem importing the records but am wondering if there is a way to merge or update some of the nuts and bolts of the database if it was changed at all.

Thanks

Anne Linton

Wenzel Coaching

• 1. Re: I am new to Filemaker Pro and have a question about merging database files
          timwhisenant

Hi Anne,

So you have someone else send a new revised database each month, if I understand correctly?

If that is the case and schema (fields, value lists, etc) is changed/ updated, then why not import the old database into the new one?

That way the database will have both the latest changes and all of the data.

Tim

• 2. Re: I am new to Filemaker Pro and have a question about merging database files
            annelinton

Thanks Tim

I did that but it still doesn't seem to import the new value list that I am

looking for. Is there a way to update value lists? Or should that happen

automatically?

thanks for your help,

Anne

• 3. Re: I am new to Filemaker Pro and have a question about merging database files
              timwhisenant

Anne,

If you copy the old data into the newly received file (with the value list modified), then yes, It will stay there and be available going fwd.

There is no process or functionality for importing the value list per-se.

Tim

• 4. Re: I am new to Filemaker Pro and have a question about merging database files
                techt