12 Replies Latest reply on Jun 30, 2012 11:41 PM by moj6054

How to limit data in a report?

gingerl

I'm REALLY new to Filemaker Pro and need some help with a database I'm creating (I've used MS Access for the last several years, so I was able to at least set up a basic Filemaker database). I have hundreds of customers and multiple job records for each customer. I need to be able to pull up a customer and print a report based on only one job record of my choosing at a time. I have the data entered and have set up a report, but I haven't found an easy way to select the specific reoord before previewing the report. In Access, I used an input box that would let me enter the job # and then generate the report for just that job...can I do that in Filemaker?

• 1. Re: How to limit data in a report?
          fitch

Let's say you have a customers table and a job table, related by customer ID. (I say table for simplicity, but really we're talking about table occurrences on the relationship graph.) On your customer layout, you might have a portal that shows jobs for that customer. You can put a button in that portal that goes to the related job, using a layout based on the job table.

Or, you could start from the jobs layout and search for the job # there. It's all about the layout/context.

I.e., print your report from the context of the job, not the customer.

• 2. Re: How to limit data in a report?
            gingerl

I tried that...I think.  The portal shows all jobs for the related customer record, but when I click on the portal, I can't seem to select just one of the job records and the report that opens shows all of the jobs for that customer.  My button setup on the portal is Go To Related Record with Options to: Get related record from: Job details; Show Record using the jobs report and I've checked Show Only Related Records and Match Current Record Only.  I feel like I'm missing something really obvious...

• 3. Re: How to limit data in a report?