8 Replies Latest reply on Dec 30, 2011 7:49 PM by LaRetta

Help with Merging records - FMP 11

newleaf67

This is going to be insultingly easy for someone, but it's 3:00 AM here and I am on a deadline...brain like mush.

I have about 600 records from my cilent database. They represent about 300 total clients, but the data set I have in imported from Quickbooks via Excel and I have a unique record for each JOB we did for that client. I have fields designated for each project, and now I want to combine all records for a given client into one.

What I have:

Record 1: Client A, Project A

Record 2: Client A, Project B

Record 3: Client A, Project C

Record 4: Client B, Project A

Record 4: Client B: Project C

Record 5: Client C: Project B

Record 6: Client C: Project C

and so on....

What I want:

Record 1: Client A, Project A, Project B, Project C

Record 2: Client B, Project A, Project C

Record 3: Client C, Project B, Project C

Thank you in advance. I've been using FMP for 20 years but I keep getting stupider....duhhhh

• 1. Re: Help with Merging records - FMP 11
          RubenVanDenBoogaard

Hi,

If you have a clear id for each client you could make a self joining relation ClientID -> ClientID

put the relation in a portal and use a looping script to add the project data to the first client record.

Mark the other records from that client  'delete'  so you can delete them afterwards.

Go to the next record which is not marked 'delete' etc.

If you don't have a clear id for the client you have to make a clientID, a good starting point is to

compare email adresses, zip codes+ home numbers etc.  This needs to be done carefully otherwise

you are going to have double client, or worse missing client where a project is put at an other client.

Hope this helps

Best regards,

Ruben van den Boogaard

Infomatics Software

ruben@infomatics.nl

created by newleaf67 in General - View the full discussion