14 Replies Latest reply on Jan 10, 2012 2:04 PM by CarstenLevin

Advice on "where to now" - seperation vs single

kiwikaty

Hi there

I am an inhouse developer for a solution that is 10 years old, Originally in Filemaker v5 and was 102 files, with the release of v7 it was converted down to 13 files, and now more recently I have created a UI file for the interface but the "data" files still contain the layouts and scripts that formed the basis of the UI (incase I had to backtrack).

The users have been in the UI file for 12 months now.

I am trying to make the decision whether to now make the UI file 1 big data AND UI file which would effectively consolidate the following files:

FileSize
      Students
      2.1GB
      Coredata1.9GB
      Practicum295mb
      Programmes91.8mb
      Classes
      78.8mb
      Codes
      44.7mb
      UI
      32.2mb
      Staff
      14.2mb
      Main Menu 1.28mb

Which in one folder = 4.55GB

The UI currently has just over 1000 TO's which would all need repointing to local tables once I imported them and the broken calcs would need uncommenting... (this could cause some RSI as about 3,700 of the 10,500 fields are calcs!).

Some futher TO's would need to be to be added that are not yet created in the UI as I did not need them for scripts or portals but will need them for calcs if I make this change.

Then the data would need importing. Not sure that it would be possible to get this much data imported over a weekend period?

I think it would be about 2 weeks solid development work (not sure if this is optimistic or not) and I would have to put a freeze on any schema changes in the live system during that time.

OR