1 2 Previous Next 15 Replies Latest reply on Jan 12, 2012 3:07 AM by comment

Problem with file time format

vittofm

I've been developing a solution for a customer of mine for many years.

I use FM 10 Pro Advanced.

When I update the solution, I usually create an empty file and import data from the customer's backup

I never had problems, 'til I upgraded my Mac Pro to Lion.

The file format for "hour" fileds has always been hh.mm

Now, with Lion, I cannot enter values in time fields with the desired hh.mm format. Both in Mac and Windows (several versions tested) File Maker asks for the hh:mm:ss format, and there's no way to go back to the previous situation. I tried to test the file options related to system formatting options in several ways but with no success.

I cannot accept the new situation because hh.mm format is used in tons of script and controls.

Can anybody help me? How can I set the file input format for time fileds back to hh.mm?

Thanks

• 1. Re: Problem with file time format
          FileMakerProRocks

This sounds like the known Java problem on Lion. There were discussions before about this issue. At this time it was recommended use custom date and time settings using the field inspector. I am not aware of other fixes.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Problem with file time format
            geeksharka

I am perhaps not clear on the exact issue -- but you should be able to set that Time field's formatting to hh:mm in layout mode; and it will accept similarly entered data (without seconds).

Should that not answer your needs, you can also create a new field that will take the Time field's value, and format it perfectly via a calculation-value setting in the field's options -- or if you prefer, by attaching a script-trigger to the field that manages the field formatting upon or after entering a value.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
            • 3. Re: Problem with file time format
              vittofm