1 2 Previous Next 26 Replies Latest reply on Jan 13, 2012 9:39 AM by Stephen Huston

PROBLEMS WITH WRITING SCRIPTS TO PRODUCE RELIABLE REPORTS

bess

Dear FileMaker Developer Community,

I am hoping that someone out there can help me with a script problem. I've done a lot of work with a much older version of FileMaker Pro, but I'm new to scripts and I am doing something wrong with scripts to produce Reports.

I have a small database; the major table is called "Clients" (CCS Cients 1). Each client is identified by a number e.g. ##/06 (where 06 = 2006, 12 = 2012, etc).

From the Client information, I want to be able to produce fully automated reports. I am currently looking at 2 reports, both look at HOW the clients heard about us. One report is called "Referral Source Totals" & should return a result of 34 entries. The other is called "Referral Source 2006" & should return a result of 25 entries.

To cut a long story short, at the minute there are 2 major problems:-

1. if I go from 1 report to the other, in either order, the results will refer to whichever report I looked at first (i.e. "Totals" could return 25 entries, not 34, if I had previously looked at the "2006" report, or vice versa);
      2. sometimes a message flashes up telling me to modify the find???

For the report "Referral Source Totals", I am using a script which goes:

• Enter Browse Mode [ ]
      • Go to Layout ["Report Referral Source Totals" (CCS Clients 1)]
      • Enter Find Mode [ ]
      • Perform Find [ ]
      • Unsort Records [ ]
      • Go to Record/Request/Page [specify First]
      • Sort Records [Restore; no dialog] [specify Sort Order Client_Referral_Source (ascending), Client_MF (ascending), Client_Year (ascending), Client_Number (ascending)]
      • Enter Preview Mode [ ]

For the report "Referral Source 2006" , I am using the following script:

• Enter Browse Mode [ ]
      • Go to Layout [Report Referral Source 2006" (CCS Clients 1)]
      • Perform Find [ ]