8 Replies Latest reply on Jan 17, 2012 10:18 AM by MattLeach

Calculating a Graph

MattLeach

I've been asked to setup a graph in our system to show the total amount of expected income for each month. Up to this point i have very minimal experience with FileMaker's graphing capabilities so i'm a bit new to this part.

Each record in our database contains 2 fields:

MonthlyAmt = The amount the client pays each month

SWPD2 = The date that the client is paid up through (this date will always be the end of a month)

To suffice my boss's need for this right away, i was able to export the information and quickly create a graph in excel as i'm very fluent in excel and knew i could get it done quickly.

I now need to make this graph real-time, so the only solution would be a graph within our database.

What would be the best way to approach this? I'm assuming i would need a summary field that calculates the total amount based on the paid through date?

Thanks

• 1. Re: Calculating a Graph
          comment

MattLeach wrote:

Each record in our database contains 2 fields:

MonthlyAmt = The amount the client pays each month

SWPD2 = The date that the client is paid up through (this date will always be the end of a month)

How does one know when did the client start paying?

• 2. Re: Calculating a Graph
            MattLeach

There really is no "Start Paying Date". We have a start date for when the record was created.

The way it works is when the client purchases our software, they are required to pre-pay a year. After that initial year, they are not required to keep up with paying their subscription. They could pay the first year, let it lapse and then start paying again a few months later either yearly, quarterly or monthly.

I realize that this isn't exactly the greatest way to handle it, but this is how they've been doing it and will not change no matter how hard i try lol.

Based on what they are looking for, i do not believe the start date is relevant. For example: