10 Replies Latest reply on Jan 18, 2012 2:17 PM by danknight

How do I lookup data in another table

danknight

I'm very new to Filemaker Pro, coming from years in the Access world.

I'm attempting to build a Timesheet database.

I'm needing to lookup and then use certain values based on the user who logged in.

The table structure includes a tblUsers, which includes fields for FullName (which will be used to match against the Get(AccountName) function), FName, LName, Hours and HourlyRate.

What I'm attempting to do is, based on the LogIn (Get(AccountName)) I want to lookup the FName, LName, Hours & HourlyRate, so I can set the default for the Timesheet layout. This means the user will not have to a) repeat the process of selecting their name to create their Timesheet, b) enter their default working hours for each day, b) enter their default Hourly Rate.

I simply want them to have to:

1) LogIn

2) Select the Period Ending date

3) Make any changes to default hours

4) Add any Expense claims

5) Print the Timesheet.

I've managed to successfully use the Get(AccountName) function to return the logged in user, but how do I use that to find the appropriate record in tblUsers and then return the appropriate data from the requested field?

Thanks in advance.

Dan Knight

• 1. Re: How do I lookup data in another table
          patricia

You can use the security area to set up the access for the User so that he only sees his record. Using a script parameter to pass the user record ID. Once you have the ID in Timesheet, you can lookup the information. All of this can be done without the user being aware of it.

There are so many ways of doing this solution. Using a portal in the user record to show the timesheet information, the user could enter all the information on that record.

Something to keep in mind is that the ID number should be used to link the 2 tables not the name.

I am sure this is redundant to you but ID numbers in FM are the basic links between tables.