7 Replies Latest reply on Jan 19, 2012 5:28 AM by bobatkinson

Looking up field data from a different FMP file ... Help !!

bobatkinson

Hello;

This may seem simple, but I'm a relative beginner and stumped. I have two different FMP 10 files which have the same fields. One of them (A) has missing data in several fields across all the records, The other file (B) has all the data for those fields. I can use my AccountNumber field to match records between the two files and I want to do a one-time Lookup to grab the data in several fields from file B into the empty fields in matching records (by AccountNumber) in A.

HOW DO I DO IT????

Thanks.

• 1. Re: Looking up field data from a different FMP file ... Help !!
          LyndsayHowarth

This picture shows the settings to use for this kind of IMPORT ACTION

Note that I have a Patient ID where you will have the Account number

Picture 5.png

You may also wish to check the "Add remaining data as new records"

HTH

- Lyndsay

• 2. Re: Looking up field data from a different FMP file ... Help !!
            bobatkinson

Hi;

Thanks for your reply.   I think the trouble I'm having is that the place I want to get the data from is in a completely different FMP 10 file (with a common field to match with), not a table in the same FMP file.  How can I hook that up?

- Bob Atkinson

• 3. Re: Looking up field data from a different FMP file ... Help !!
              PSI

Bob,

I read these posts as emails and I haven’t been following this thread that closely. As very few seem to quote the previous comments it makes it hard to know what came before. So if this is redundant…

You can just put the table from file B on the graph of file A. Then create a relationship from the table in file A to this table. You will need a field in table A to hold the primary key of table B, usually called a foreign key. Create the relationship from A to B using the Foreign key(A) to the primary key(B).

Hope this helps

John Morina

Pueblo System, Inc.