5 Replies Latest reply on Jan 23, 2012 5:30 AM by beverly

'Set Field By Name' issue resolved - RTF to HTML solution

Hi All,

being a newbie I find this forum very useful and I am grateful to all contributors.

I have found a scripting solution to create html from rich text fields.

I started to collect my explorations in my blog at ralfw.weebly.com and I thought I might share my findings here.

Is the link acceptable or would it be required to put the solution into this message directly?

• 1. Re: 'Set Field By Name' issue resolved - RTF to HTML solution

Oops

I didn't get the link right - lets try again:

ralfw.weebly.com

• 2. Re: 'Set Field By Name' issue resolved - RTF to HTML solution
            LyndsayHowarth

Hi Ralf,

Now I know you are a man who (as your web site says) loves "reinventing the wheel"...

But I thought I might ask what the advantage is here over just using getascss(text) with a top & tail html/head/body tags ...?

- Lyndsay

• 3. Re: 'Set Field By Name' issue resolved - RTF to HTML solution
              beverly

I'm also not sure why you'd do it that way, Ralf. I'm not a fan of GetAsCSS() without some serious tweaking (it's doesn't seem xhtml compliant, for example). But it does what you want (mostly) as is.

Beverly

• 4. Re: 'Set Field By Name' issue resolved - RTF to HTML solution

Hi Lyndsay and Beverly,

there is indeed no advantage over getascss(text)  (thanks for that hint - I hadn't thought of trying it that way).

The reason for me to explore this is that I want to use Filemaker for the maintenance of a dictionary of some sort:

On this website  m-tarot.net I make use of a dictionary (open the 'Card Description' accordion tag). To generate the website I use an algorithm to automatically insert span tags when finding a keyword in the 'Card Description' text.