6 Replies Latest reply on Jan 30, 2012 8:20 AM by comment

Filtering by current date from parent to child related table.

tcenguyen

Hi all,

I am new to FileMaker and in the processing of learning it. I love it, however I got stuck how to make make it work they way I needed it to be.

I have two tables , Activity tabble and Supplement table.

1. Activity table record all the activity that user enter his or her activity by TEXT, I do have __ActicityID as the Primary key for it, Activity as TEXT so use can type; and Date and Time field with Auto Created and Can not modify.

2. Supplement table is the very much like the Activity table but with ONE additonal field format as TEXT so user can enter the Supllement to the ACTIVITY ID +

Question: How Can I display only record that Created as today + ::Activity or Current date in the Supplement Table, so user can select it the Layout of the Supplement.

I have try to use the gdate as global and the function of get (currentdate) but I am not sure I did it corectly.

Please advice.

Thanks

• 1. Re: Filtering by current date from parent to child related table.
          RayCologon

tcenguyen wrote:

Question:  How Can I display only record that Created as today + ::Activity or Current date in the Supplement Table, so user can select it the Layout of the Supplement.

Hi tcenguyen,

Rather than using a global field, I suggest you create an unstored calculation field with a result type of date and with the formula specified as Get(CurrentDate), then use that as a match field for a relationship to your Supplement table.

You will need to set up the relationship so it matches the unstored calculation in the Activity table with a date field in the Supplement table that auto-enters the creation date - and you will need to add a second pair of match fields to the relationship to also match the ActivityID field in both tables, like this:

FilterByDate.png