12 Replies Latest reply on Feb 1, 2012 8:06 AM by BruceRobertson

Get list of filenames from a different server or location using applescript in filemaker.

lutfishah

Hi All,

I need a bit of help.

Basically I'm trying to get list of filenames in a folder from a different server or location into filemaker database by using apple script.

The apple script is keep on giving me errors with regards to the path (e.g: Can’t get every file of /Volumes/Test_LowRes".)

This is how the apple script looks like.

Screen shot 2012-01-31 at 14.48.10.png
      I'm not good with apple scripts ; )
      I'm using FileMaker Pro 11 Advanced and mac10.6.8.
      Thanks
        • 1. Re: Get list of filenames from a different server or location using applescript in filemaker.
          pminich

I think that it is in how your are forming the file path. I am by no means an apple script guru but I tend to use the mac friendly form in which case it would look something like "DriveName:Volumes:Test_LowRes".

Set that to a variable as an alias and then use that variable in the line - set x to filenames of variable

I would highly recommend using the Script Master plugin for this if possible. The ListAllFilesInDirectory function returns a value list of the files that you can then do with as you like. Speaking from experience it is a heck of a lot easier than going "outside" filemaker.

• 2. Re: Get list of filenames from a different server or location using applescript in filemaker.
            BruceRobertson

Please post your script as text. Nobody is going to re-enter it or test it from your image.

• 3. Re: Get list of filenames from a different server or location using applescript in filemaker.
              lutfishah

Many thanks for the replyb pminich : )

I think I do have a script master plugin.

Would it be possible to give an example of using ListAllFilesDirectory function. I'm using a script in filemaker which "mounts" the