5 Replies Latest reply on Feb 2, 2012 3:37 PM by worldcloud

What's the best resource for learning FM scripting language?

rbogdanoff

I am a programmer (php, Javascript) and just started working at a company that uses Filemaker 11. I'm very good at learning new programming language syntax and structure from reference books. Can anyone recommend a book (or web based resource) for learning the Filemaker scripting language? I have The Missing Manual for Filemaker 11, but I find it a cumbersome resource for learning the scripting.

• 1. Re: What's the best resource for learning FM scripting language?
          MattLeach

I've found the Script Step Reference as well as the Functions Reference very useful.

Both can be found in the documentation section of FileMaker's website here: http://www.filemaker.com/support/product/documentation.html

• 2. Re: What's the best resource for learning FM scripting language?
            tech_liaison

It really depends on what you need to learn. If you're already familiar with programming concepts like looping, parameters, return results, error capture, boolean logic, and structures like if and case statements, then the FileMaker application Help menu should have everything you need. The script step and function references are built right in.

If you need to go a little deeper than that with plenty of code samples and example files to pick apart, then you may want to consider taking advantage of our promo for new TechNet members. Until March 15, we're offering the digital download version of the 13 module FileMaker Training Series for $9.99. It's what FM authorized trainers use in their classes and it's what we recommend as the study guide for FM certification. It covers developing in FMP soup-to-nuts, and includes example files and videos to supplement the lessons. You can find out how to get it by reading the announcement on the Overview page; just click the Show Details link in the announcement banner. HTH.

Best,

Dave