12 Replies Latest reply on Feb 3, 2012 3:04 PM by beverly

Multi level relationships

garyshell

I am new to FileMaker but not to databases. I have been developing in Access, Oracle, SQL etc for MANY years.

I have a simple three level relationship to represent.

1. Client
        1. Project
          1. Building

In the Client table I have a ClientID field. In the Project table I have a ProjectID field and a foreign key for ClientID. In the Building table I have a BuildingID field and a foreign key for ProjectID. I have established the relationship between Client and Project and also between Project and Building.

I was able to successfully create a report layout that would show Clients and Projects within each client and another report showing Projects and Buildings within each Project. I used the SubSummary part for these. But try as I might, I cant seem to be able to create a Client/Project/Building report with multiple SubSumary parts. It appears that the implied relationship between Building and Client records is not being understood by the report generator.

It was suggested that I de-normalize my data by including the ClientID in each Building record, but that seems like a kludge. Plus I actually have two more levels of info below Building, and the thought of de-normalizing the data all the way down those next two levels just seems wrong to me. I realize that many things are done differently in Filemaker, but...

Thanks in advance for any light you might be able to shed on this.

Gary

• 1. Re: Multi level relationships
          beverly

Gary, do the report from the building table/perspective. Have a summary for Project and another for Client. then sort the report by both relationships (fields).

In list  view, the fields for building go in the BODY. The related fields go in the respective SUBSUMMARY parts.

If you have something to "total" those fields can be created in Buildings and placed in the summary parts.