12 Replies Latest reply on Feb 7, 2012 2:07 AM by listen2earth

saving sent messages by email

dunumba

Hi, this is my first question in this great forum. I'm a spanish non-professional developer and I need any help about saving sent messages by email.

I've no problem with the mailing setup with Filemaker, but my client ask me to save every sent email with all his related data.

Is there any way to get that?

It would be something similar to Business Productivity Kit 3.0 (from Filemaker, Inc.), but with an automatic selection of the mail recipients.

Thanks,

Dunumba

• 1. Re: save sent messages by email
          MicheleOlson

Hi Dunumba,

Take a look at FM StartingPoint 2.1 from Richard Carton Consulting. <http://www.fmstartingpoint.com/>.

One of the modules sends and saves emails. You can either use Starting Point as the basis of your system, or study the module within StartingPoint and add something similar to yours.

HTH,

Michele

• 2. Re: save sent messages by email
            RayCologon

dunumba wrote:

...my client ask me to save every sent email with all his related data.

Hello Dunumba,

You haven't said  much about how the emails are being created and sent in your solution, however I'd suggest you save them as data in a form that can easily be searched, reviewed or re-sent by the user.

To do that, I'd suggest that you create an EmailLog table with an auto-enter (serial number) key field, fields for each of the parts of the email (to, subject, body etc). Then from the table occurrrence (TO) context where the user will be sending the emails, create a relationship to the EmailLog table that matches a global field (in the existing TO) to the key field in the EmailLog table, and turn on the option to "Allow creation of records in this table via this relationship" for the EmailLog table.

With the above in place, in each script that sends an email, add a few steps (eg after the Send Mail[ ] step), along the lines of:

• If [Get(LastError) = 0]