11 Replies Latest reply on Feb 8, 2012 11:07 AM by Bill_Harper

FM Newbie - Easy Question for someone about Contact Mgmt.

skurfer

Hello Everyone. I am a newbie to FileMaker and have what should be an easy question for someone. I have two tables: 1) Company and 2) Contacts. I have a one to many relationship from Company to Contacts with a field called Company_ID in each table. I don't want to use a portal on the Company Layout to enter my contacts but rather I want to have a seperate Company Layout and Contact Layout but maintain the relationship. Specifically, I think I want to have a Drop Down list (or something like it) to pick the company on my Contact Layout to assign the company and then simply enter all of my contact information and save it. For some reason I can't figure out a way to do this. Are portals the only way to enter related table data? P.S. - It works fine if I put a contact portal on my Customer Layout but this is too limiting. Thanks for any help. Like I said - a newbie.

• 1. Re: FM Newbie - Easy Question for someone about Contact Mgmt.
          Mfun

Hi skurfer,