4 Replies Latest reply on Feb 13, 2012 10:51 AM by karendweaver

Help with importing records

kijindoragon

Hi, I'm new to FMP and I'm having some trouble. I need to bring in data regarding inventory with three fields. Product type, serial number, model number. When I go to import from excel file the import box comes up but the records are in the wrong fields, and while there are 30 records it says there are 2. One thing I found just said drag the target fields around to get them in the right spot but they don't seem to be draggable.

Also I need to make sure that the existing data is not erased.

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Help with importing records
          LyndsayHowarth

Importing can be tricky.

I suggest you open your help... type import and wait for the full file list then choose this item "Methods of importing data into an existing file". It has a good diagram.

One of the easiest ways to import from Excel is to drop the Excel document on the FIleMaker app icon. This creates a file with "converted" added to the file name of the original. This is then used to import into your FileMaker database-proper... which will also make the field matching easier.

When you import data... the default setting imports the records then keeps the data it just imported as the Current Found Set. If you make a mistake you can delete the found records and try again.

When you import, you want to be on the layout with the table that you want to import into. Then you choose import and navigate to the file. Down the bottom of this Open dialog there is a popup menu where you can choose what sort of file you are importing from. If you choose the wrong one, you will get the results you have been having.

Excel data will be imported from the top of the worksheet to where the data ends (basically). If you have blank lines they will be imported as blank records. If the top row is column headings, these headings can be recognised as field names and not imported as records.