5 Replies Latest reply on Feb 16, 2012 10:17 AM by ch0c0halic

Needing help! Is it possible to press enter to move to the field below a current field?

cdurham

Greetings to all,

I am fairly new to FileMaker. I am using FileMaker Pro Advanced 11. I am working with a large amount of data and i am manually having to type into a field and enter a number. What I need to know is, if it is possible in FileMaker, could I somehow push enter and move to the bottom field that is directly under the data that I am typing in (like in Microsoft Excel)? Or, is there a way to, for example, I am filling in each row with the numbers 1 and 2. Sometimes I will fill in 30 rows with ones. Is there a way in FileMaker to select and copy a one, and then choose multiple fields to just paste those "1's" in (like in Microsoft Excel), or do they have to be entered in manually? Anyones help would be greatly appreciated.

• 1. Re: Needing help! Is it possible to press enter to move to the field below a current field?
          MattLeach

You could edit the Tab Order in Layout Mode and use the Tab key instead of enter.

• 3. Re: Needing help! Is it possible to press enter to move to the field below a current field?
            raybaudi

"could I somehow push enter and move to the bottom field that is directly under the data that I am typing in !"

Yes, you can.

While in Layout Mode, select ALL your fields and:

Inspector > Data > Behavior > Go to next object using...

• 4. Re: Needing help! Is it possible to press enter to move to the field below a current field?
              Mike_Mitchell

Hello, cdurham.

Welcome to FileMaker. The answer to your question will depend, in large part, on exactly what your data entry interface looks like and what you're trying to accomplish.