1 2 Previous Next 22 Replies Latest reply on Apr 25, 2012 7:06 PM by bnsonger47

Advisability of Using Table View Instead of List View

jmci

A client has asked me to design a custom CRM system for his company to replace a legacy system. This client has some familiarity with FileMaker Pro. In initial discussions he is hot on the idea of using table view instead of list view layouts. I've been a contract developer using FileMaker for many years and have never employed table view in a project I've delivered to another company. I know that table view has evolved somewhat recently and I'm interested in hearing the community's opinion of the advisability of using table view instead of list view and the reasons pro and con. If it's as bad an idea as I believe it to be I want to be able to present a compelling argument, if not, I need to be convinced by professionals.

• 1. Re: Advisability of Using Table View Instead of List View
          fmpvince

No support for buttons in rows, therefore useless enough said !

(usefull for development only)

This is too bad, I wish FM Inc allowed buttons in rows

• 2. Re: Advisability of Using Table View Instead of List View
            Mike_Mitchell

My first question would be, why does the client favor Table View?

My next question would be, what can you do in List View that would deliver that for him?

I'm personally NOT a big fan of Table View for user access; too many opportunities for things to go wrong. And too little developer control.

Mike

• 3. Re: Advisability of Using Table View Instead of List View
              jmci

He might just be trying to save money on development costs.

• 4. Re: Advisability of Using Table View Instead of List View
                beverly

jmci, on the + side, tables:

sortable columns

columns can be re-arraged

columns can be re-sized

I do limit access to tables and I don't like the ability to "create fields" with tables, but I understand this can be a training point as well.