6 Replies Latest reply on Feb 27, 2012 1:57 AM by Mike_Mitchell

How to find matching fields and then go to first record in layout?

cgallardo

Hi all,

I am very new to Filemaker.I have only been using FM10 for a few hours every week since the start of the year and have very basic knowledge of databases so I am sorry if I use the wrong jargon.

I think my database tables and relationships are ok as when testing via the table views everything works as expected. Just having a bit of trouble setting up the user interfaces and some of the scripts.

This is (part of) my project:

MENU LAYOUT

Has a drop down box with the names of shops and another box with a calendar to select shipping dates.

There are also 2 buttons, Cancel and OK

This layout is attached (sorry if it is the wrong definition) to a Table (that is not related to anything, just a standalone table) called TempVariables. I didn't want to use a custom dialog box as I thought this way I get more control on formatting and scripting.

On Layout load, a simple script is run to silently request a new record creation.

Once the data is entered and the user clicks OK, the following script runs:

1. Data is copied to global variables ($$ShopName and $$ShipDate). This is working
      2. A delete record request without dialog is done(to keep the TempVariable table 'clean').This is also working.
      3. Goto LAYOUT 2 - Display Purchase Order (attached to Orders Table). It is displaying the layout, but...