7 Replies Latest reply on Feb 29, 2012 5:55 AM by nkolios

New to Charting

nkolios

Hi, I'm a bit new to charting in Filemaker. I have a table which contains a list of product sales showing volumes of sales only. The list is extensive and covers several years, the products are grouped together by type. I am trying to compare volume sales per month, so for one year I will have 12 bars, but also compare the years so each month could have several series representing the different years. At the moment they are altogether in one table and I wanted to know if there was anyway of producing this chart without have to break my data up.

I have added a field to each record which puts each record into a particular year and our financial year starts at the begining of October so i have also had to reshuffle the months by assiging a number to each month.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

• 1. Re: New to Charting
          Mike_Mitchell

Hello, nkolios.

I'm not 100% sure from your description what data you have available, but if you have month and year available on each sales record, one way this can typically be done is to have a separate table that lists month and year, then set up a relationship between that table and the raw sales data. Then, use a calculation that summarizes the sales data for the related data by month and year. For example:

SalesByMonth = Sum ( Sales::Volume )

Then, you can chart SalesByMonth from the Months table.

HTH

Mike

• 2. Re: New to Charting
            LyndsayHowarth

Hi nkolios,

I have attached an image which shows such a feature within a single sales-data table. I have tried to obscure data which makes it recognisable so a lot of the categories or Types (subsummary) are missing... and I've blurred the actual numbers...

The date periods (global fields) are generated by entering one and the rest are auto-populated according to a pattern the user selects from a popup with options for months, quarters and years.