5 Replies Latest reply on Feb 22, 2012 1:13 PM by timwhisenant

Develop database on different PC to server

user16314

I would like to develop a new database using FileMaker Pro on one PC. Is it possible to then transfer the database to the server which will have the FileMaker Server software? I am new to FileMaker software.

• 1. Re: Develop database on different PC to server
          StephenWonfor

Dill Russ

Welcome to the community.  The answer is - of course you can do that.  It is also possible to develop the database while it is hosted on the server - that allows you to take advantage of the server backups.  Very handy when you so something "brilliant" that later turns out to be very "silly" - you just pull a good copy of the database from the server backups.  You can run the backups quite often on server.  If you develop on a standalone computer do frequent backups.

Stephen

"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not one bit simpler." --- Albert Einstein

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Develop database on different PC to server
            user16314

Thank you for your response, Stephen.

The reason I need to do this, is because the server will be on a different site to where I am doing the development.

• 3. Re: Develop database on different PC to server
              deninger

As long as the server resolves to an outside IP and the firewall points to the proper ports back to the FM Server (TCP 5003 I think) you can do it. Please be aware, however, that things might be a bit slow if you are connecting from a slow internet connection.

Also, be sure you think about the security of the database as ANYONE can access it when it hangs out in the wild on the Internet...

• 4. Re: Develop database on different PC to server
                StephenWonfor