6 Replies Latest reply on Feb 25, 2012 4:05 AM by roberttaylor66

OnLayoutExit Trigger, what is the expected behavior?

roberttaylor66

I am using FM Pro Advanced 11 v3 on Vista.

I am trying to leverage the OnLayoutExit trigger to clear some global variables when a layout closes.

Per the documentation, I am expecting this trigger to fire when a layout is exited (closed).

However, I am discovering that sometimes the trigger fires when another layout is being opened.

In particular, this happens when the subject layout (the one with the OnLayoutExit trigger) has focus and a custom menu item is used to open a new layout.

I've attached a file that demonstrates this problem.

I think this is a bug, but I am fairly new to FM so I'm not sure if this behavior is expected.

Can someone run my example and confirm that this is indeed unexpected behavior?

Thanks.

• 1. Re: OnLayoutExit Trigger, what is the expected behavior?
          PalmDBS

When you create a new window, it opens with the sme layout as the current window.  When you subsequently change the layout in the new window, it IS exiting the layout and triggering the OnLayoutExit. 

One solution is to use a global field to indicate that you are running the opener script, checking that value in your OnLayoutExit trigger (and exiting if the global indicates you are in the Open Layout scripti), then changng the global back. 

Something like

New Window.....

Set Field [Global::OpenLayoutScriptRunning;1]

Go to Layout.....

Set Field [Global::OpenLayoutScriptRunning;0]

Then, in your OnLayoutExit script, add at the top

If [Global::OpenLayoutScriptRunning=1]

Exit Script          (edited per comment below)  

End If

I'm sure there are other solutions out there, that's just what comes to mind off the top of my head - I'm still very new to FM.

Mike

• 2. Re: OnLayoutExit Trigger, what is the expected behavior?
            Malcolm

Definitely not a bug.

Try this: