7 Replies Latest reply on Feb 27, 2012 8:30 PM by gowa

Standalone solutions

gowa

Can someone point to where I can find information on standalone solutions?

Thanks.

• 1. Re: Standalone solutions
          beverly

Gowa, can you refine your interpretation of 'standalone'?

Do you mean a complete solution that runs on a computer with FmPro?

Or a bound solution with a runtime, rather than FmPro?

Or an iPad solution the only needs FmGo?

Or ???

-- sent from my iPhone4 --

Beverly Voth

--

• 3. Re: Standalone solutions
            gowa

Beverly,

Sorry if I seem vague, as you can see I'm new to this.

I'm just trying to get some ideas for the future.

Designing solutions that don't need FM Pro in order to use them and have no indication what program created them. (Runtime PC)

My background is photography and I use Photoshop etc.

I wasn't keen on learning a new piece of software but got pushed by my employer.

The company data is in a terrible state. This made me shun the offer to organize it but here I am.

The original data is in excel and had many users that didn't know how to use it properly. YIKES!

However, I used the import feature and it works well, of course I will have to clean the excel files.

So far, I'm happy with FM and now looking forward to the learning process.

• 4. Re: Standalone solutions
              beverly

You can create a database solution using FileMaker Pro Advanced*. This can then be "bound" to a "runtime" engine that will display the solution for someone without needing to purchase FMPro. This is sometimes called a "shrink-wrap" solution: ready to go for the user. It will INSTALL a limited version of the FileMaker engine. The user can only "play" the files bound to it, but cannot create new files (and other features are disabled, such as the files also cannot be networked - is single user only).

• FileMaker Pro (non-Advanced) can also be used to created database(s), but you must have Advanced to create the runtime.