1 2 Previous Next 29 Replies Latest reply on Mar 1, 2012 6:17 PM by Patrick

Unstored Calculations

Patrick

I am creating a solution to price windows/doors etc...

It's my first solution in Filemaker and it's actually coming along quite nice. It is being developped for the iPad.

I am however running into some kind of snag. I have alot of unstored calculations and the further into the development I get the slower the whole system runs to the point of even bogging down my computer a little bit.

Do unstored calculations take up alot of computing power?

I have very little experience in thie field and would like any insight into this please?

The reason I am using unstored calculations versus auto entered calculations is they update automatically on the fly as sizes are changed or as options change. I tried auto enter calculations but it seems I have to use refresh scripts for it to update properly and that is almost as annoying as the slowing down from the unnstored. I hope I've explained this properly.

• 1. Re: Unstored Calculations
          MarcDolley

Is there a reason the calculations are unstored and not indexed? Unstored calculations only produce a result when the result needs to be visible to the user or are required by some other process. They take up very little room in the database, but can slow things down.

Perhaps you should provide some examples of the calculations so we can assist you better.

Regards

Marc

• 2. Re: Unstored Calculations
            Patrick

Here's a list of 7 such unstored calculations in my "build" table. I am sure there's an easier and more refined way to do alot of these but as I said I am new and just learning the ropes. In the same table I have another 21 such calculations for a total of 28

w_Width * w_Height / 144

------------------------------------------------------------

((w_Width * 2) + (w_Height * 2))/12

-------------------------------------------------------------

Case ( w_Type = "Single Hung"